Thinkofone's Blog

One person's thoughts may change the world

Neil DeGrasse Tyson, I’m thankful for you…

neildegrasse

Thank you Neil for being you. Thank you for your love of science. Thank you for being one of my contemporaries I can identify with. Without you, I felt like a fish out of water, with one of my hero’s being Copernicus. Thank you for doing something that I gave up on a long time ago, of being an astronomer. I received my first telescope in the 3rd grade. I had a atlas, a globe of the moon, and even a globe of space.  I read my mother astronomy book when she was in college, from front to back while still in grade school. I knew Andromeda was our nearest neighboring galaxy and found it with my telescope near Orion’s belt. I knew Alpha Centaur i was our nearest neighboring star. I knew of Mount Palomar and Mt. Wilson observatories, which at one time were both the largest in the world.  I marveled at the beauty of the Crab Nebula. I read about Hubble before the Hubble telescope, I knew what year all the planets were discovered, even recently demoted Pluto.  I was born on the same day Alan Shepard was launched into space. When I became of age, I watched all of the Apollo launches. I even built and launched Estes and Centuri rockets.  The moon landing. Skylab. The shuttle, and currently the International Space Station. I marveled at Guy Beuford when he was the first Black astronaut.   I knew my destiny was to be an astronaut, I just didn’t know how.  Yet, you found your way, your passion. You unlocked many doors for more people who look like you, and more.

I listen to you on youtube, your radio broadcast, and even when you’re on Bill Maher. I see you thinking of ways to express your intelligence to be understood by everyone, and not just a select few. Your greatness cannot go without recognition. I find it amazing that you had one of the foremost Astrophysicists ( Carl Sagan ), as a mentor, and you are now taking a ground breaking show he created many years ago into your updated version of what has been discovered since then.   I visit space.com every day, reading up on any new discoveries, pictures, and articles, anything to advance my knowledge space.

So, thank you for realizing your dreams, of telling your story, and educating a hungry generations of future scientists. Thank you for bringing a very complex universe in our homes based upon science, and not conjecture. Most of all, thanks for your humor, your tact, your poise, and your thoughtfulness.  Thank you Dr. Neil Degrasse Tyson, for being you….

 

Peace…

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 21, 2014 by in Inner thoughts, World View and tagged , .
