Thinkofone's Blog

One person's thoughts may change the world

Tar baby?, Tar baby?….Are you kidding me… Tar baby?

Even if some people say, ‘Well, the Republicans should have done this or should have done that,’ they will hold the president responsible,” said Lamborn. “Now, I don’t even want to be associated with him. It’s like touching a, a tar baby and you get it . . . you know you’re stuck, and you’re part of the problem now, and you can’t get away.”

No apology needed. Your words as well as actions show your true colors, or shall I say, feelings on the matter of ….race. Isn’t this the year 2011? Should the President be referred to by a racist name that was coined in the 19th century? Over and over again, we are seeing disrespect for the office of the Presidency of the United States, non suffered more than our current President. “Kenyan Anti-colonialist” “Light skinned and speaks well” ( said by a democrat ). “You lie”, said by a senator from South Carolina during a Presidential speech.  Having to prove his certificate of birth by the long form. And, taking the country to almost a default on its obligations as a result of such bitter feeling of working with the President, or working against him. The AAA rating of our country has been downgraded as a result of the no compromise position of the extreme position of the right-wing… i.e. The tea baggers. I can go on, but repeating myself isn’t necessary, just read my past blog, “It’s because he’s black”.

 Are all white people racist? No… But there are a significant number of “people” out there who have a problem with having an African-American as President?… All I can say is, I’m not surprised at our country’s treatment of its first Black President.

I could say many things to prove how intelligent African-Americans have to be in the face of such bigotry. I can be cool calm and collective in the face of such negative reaction to a black President. I could preach about how all African-American just want fair and equitable treatment, in all aspects in life, both in the private sector as well as the public sector.

I know what some of those folks are going to say:

  • The statement was taken out of context.
  • I apologize that you feel this way about it.
  • He didn’t mean it in a context of racism, it was in a context of explaining a political situation.
  • They are just looking for anything to hang their hat on calling someone a racist.

Well the term “tar baby” goes back two generations for African-Americans. When I first heard that someone used it, I thought I was thrown in a time warp, something a grandfather would have heard when he was coming up. When I heard it was a member of congress, I had a prejudice reaction, I assumed it was a Republican, but I was right.

Finally, for those of you who just don’t like black people, and who have a problem with having a Black President, Man up, and admit it, I’d have more respect for you… But let me call you a name that old school football players use when that talk about someone who they have no respect for: Punk ass Mickey Ficky…and…

Get over your Emancipation Hangover….

I’m the same age as President Obama, and he can afford to have a vision of America that goes beyong race. I can’t… and I don’t. There are some real snakes out there, and the only thing you should do with a snake is…kill it.

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 7, 2011 by in Uncategorized.
